OK, this answers the only question I had
----- Original Message -----
Sent: Wednesday, July 31, 2002 9:53
Subject: Re: [eia] Question:
all-or-nothing and supply
At 08:42 PM 7/31/2002 -0400, you wrote:
Yes, if we assume that the defending corps is not
already besieged when the attacking corps arrives, then the attacking corps
must stop movement. If the defending corps retires, then the attacking
corps will have an option as to whether or not to lay siege. However,
this is *not* a house rule. Through the discussion process, we
discovered (with Mike's guidance) that this is actually what the rules say
as they are written. Hence, it is not a house rule at all. Or to
put it another way, our house rule is redundant.
So correct me if I'm wrong, but here's
a possibility that I can foresee. (I'm not trying to have a rules
debate. I'm just trying to figure out if the way I am thinking is
correct.) Suppose that the Letters are at war with the Numbers.
It is the Letters' turn to move during the land phase. Corps A moves
into a square with unbesieged enemy Corps 1. By the rules (188.8.131.52)
Corps A must halt movement and declare an attack. At this point, the
Letters should refrain from sending out any more land orders until Corps 1
has decided whether it will retire or not. Suppose Corps 1 chooses to
retire. Now the Letters' land phase continues. The Letters
choose to move Corps B into the same area as Corps A (and Corps 1).
However, since Corps 1 is now located inside the city, Corps B could
potentially continue moving.
Is this right? If not, where have I gone
Letters' corps enters an area with a Numbers' corps that is not in a
city. The Letters' corps must stop movement. There is no
exception, there is no waiting for an email. At the completion of all
movement, the land combat phase will begin and the Numbers' will make the
decision to fight in the field or retire into the
only time it is possible for the Letters' corps to continue movement is if the
entirety of the Numbers' force is garrison factors. If that is the case,
the Letters' corps will not be required to cease movement.
If there is
a Numbers' depot in the area and the only Numbers' forces in the area are
garrison factors, the Numbers' player will have to decide if the depot will be
destroyed before the Letters' player is required to say if their corps
will continue movement. This is the only case where information from the
Numbers' player would be required during the Letters'