Napoleon on Mon, 7 Mar 2005 02:47:33 -0600 (CST)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [eia] Question

I'd just like to thank you all for your thoughts on the rules.
Very much appreciated. Our group has had many a lengthy discussions
on the rules, and I find it hard to know what is the way certain rules
were intended.

All the best with your game, and I apologise for "butting" in your
email exchanges.

Thanks again.


On Fri, 04 Mar 2005 22:31:36 -0600, Joel Uckelman <uckelman@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> Thus spake "J.J. Young":
> > Hi there, Napoleon.
> >
> > To answer your question about this list, we use it as a way to submit orders
> > and carry out diplomacy for our own play-by-email game of EIA.  It's not
> > really intended as a general forum for rules discussion, except as questions
> > come up in our specific game.
> It sometimes seems like it's a general forum for rules discussion. :)
> > But here's my answer to your rules question anyway, which I think most of
> > the group woulod agree with.  According to the rules about minors with 2
> > districts, when the major district (Naples) is conquered, the minor district
> > (Sicily) automatically changes hands as well, unless the two are already
> > separate before the conquest.  If Spain is at war with the Austrian
> > conquerers, and Spanish forces are occupying Sicily, then Spain may well
> > conquer the island back a month later.
> >
> > That's my view, anyway.  Hope that helps.  Happy Gaming !
> >
> > -JJY
> I concur.
> By 11.7, The Kingdom of the Two Sicilies is a multi-district minor with
> Naples as the primary district, and by 10.4.3, control of all districts
> goes to whoever conquers the primary district. So Austria should have
> conquered Sicily at the same time as Naples (which makes the point of the
> fleet blocking the Strait of Messina moot, since it would stand down upon
> the capitulation of the Kot2S).
> Lapse of war applies to whole minors, not their component districts. There
> are only two ways that Spain could end up with Sicily through lapse of war:
> 1. War lapses with a Spanish-controlled Kot2S, so Spain ends up with both
> Naples and Sicily together as one political unit, or
> 2. War lapses with Spanish-controlled Sicily, and the Kot2S does not exist.
> --
> J.
> _______________________________________________
> eia mailing list
> eia@xxxxxxxxx
eia mailing list