Orc In A Spacesuit on 25 Apr 2003 05:48:00 -0000

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [spoon-discuss] Re: [Spoon-business] Uh... Crap...

From: "Glotmorf" <glotmorf@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
On 4/24/03 at 11:46 PM Orc In A Spacesuit wrote:
From: "Glotmorf" <glotmorf@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Rule 11: "The ruleset may only be altered as provided therein."  That
pretty much regulates alterations to the ruleset, so the first line of Rule 18 doesn't apply.

But, it does. Rule 18 is a part of "therein", or the ruleset. Same goes for anything else in the rules.

But not in this context, as demonstrated by the *second* line of r18: "Changing the Rules is permitted only as explicitly or implicitly described by a Rule other than this Rule or a set of Rules not including this Rule." So r18 can't possibly enable you to make your society's charter a rule.

I think that it's pretty explicit that charters can be modfied, and it's pretty explicity described, in a rule. The socities rule. All that R18 requires is that it be described. And since "charters can be modified" implies "any modification" (of course, subject to to any restrctions, but there are no restritions), that qualifies as an implicitly described change to the rules.

Orc in a Spacesuit

Help STOP SPAM with the new MSN 8 and get 2 months FREE* http://join.msn.com/?page=features/junkmail

spoon-discuss mailing list