| 
     I agree with Mike.  The 
order of events plus the wording of the rule Mike cited both indicate that an 
interception attempt can be made and announced as soon as a stack enters an 
eligible sea zone.  Since the sea zone that the enemy stack is in is an 
eligible sea zone and since interception attempts come before combat 
declarations, interception can always be attempted before movement ends and an 
attack is declared. 
    (BTW, in our movement orders, we 
did not give the British VII fleet an opportunity to intercept us as we 
approached.  I think we assumed that since the VII fleet did not intercept 
one enemy fleet, it would also choose not to intercept two enemy 
fleets.  However, if we were mistaken in our assumption, then the 
British VII fleet definitely has the option of retroactively intercepting 
our two fleets either in the adjacent sea zone, in its own sea zone, or 
both.  Note: the British VI fleet does not get the opportunity to intercept 
because it is in a blockade box.) 
  
kdh 
  
P.S.  Here's another situation where I only 
found out about JJ's email because of Mike's reply.  Joel, if there's 
anything you can do to shore up the email system to make it more reliable, I'd 
certainly appreciate it.  But if not, I understand. 
  ----- Original Message -----  
  
  
  Sent: Wednesday, December 11, 2002 12:16 
  PM 
  Subject: Re: [eia] evasion attempt off 
  Naples 
  
  At 11:39 AM 12/11/2002 -0500, you wrote: 
  As regards interceptions, I would 
    assume that a stack ending its movement in  the same area as an enemy 
    stack, declaring an attack upon the enemy stack,  could be intercepted in 
    an _adjacent_ area by that enemy stack, but not in the  same area where 
    the attack is being declared.
  In other words, a would-be attacker 
    could be ambushed on the way to the naval  battlefield, but once the sea 
    area where the battle will take place is reached,  an interception is no 
    longer possible since a battle will already take place.
  I am not 
    trying to say that once an attack is declared, the defending stack 
     cannot intercept other stacks moving nearby, since the rules seem to 
    allow that  for some reason.
  Would everyone agree with this 
    interpretation ?
  -JJY
  No.
  6.2.3.1 
  INTERCEPTION PROCEDURE: When a phasing stack enters a sea area occupied by 
  or adjacent to one or more enemy stacks, those enemy stacks may attempt to 
  intercept the moving stack. An "enemy stack" is any stack containing fleets at 
  war with any fleet or fleets in the phasing stack and/or at war with any corps 
  that the phasing stack may be 
  transporting.
          This 
  is before the regular naval combat phase.  The interception is declared 
  upon entering the adjacent or the same space and the interceptor does not know 
  if the stack will opt to continue movement or stop.  I suppose if they're 
  on their last movement point you know they will stop, but otherwise there is 
  no compulsion to declare this is the end of your movement until after the 
  interception attempt.  If you win the interception battle, you might 
  decide you want to keep moving even if you had not intended to before the 
  combat.         The 
  regular naval combat doesn't occur until after all the movement steps so 
  that's why an intercepting fleet might move away.  During the movement 
  phase, the regular naval combat has not yet begun.  If a target fleet 
  intercepts and moves away, then it means they slipped away before the regular 
  naval combat could be 
  declared.         I 
  would say that since 6.2.2 says that all the fleets of a major power, or of 
  major powers under combined movement, are considered one stack when in the 
  same area, that an interception of an arriving fleet would also allow already 
  present fleets to fight so long as they meet the who may fight rules in 
  6.3.1.  Those rules saying that you have to be at war with the attacking 
  stack in order to fight it with one exception that won't matter in this 
  turn.
  Mike
  
 |