J.J. Young on 24 Jul 2002 13:24:03 -0000

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [eia] Turkish land phase, 1805

The one time I can think of that a corps is in a city with no beseiging
enemy is the rare situation after an enemy has given up a seige and moved

Or- a corps is transported directly into a port city by sea. seems to say that attacking corps can either move on or stay if the
defender chooses to be in the city, and if they stay, they may besiege or
not.  However, all attacking corps in that space must make the same choice,
that is, they must all besiege or must all stand aloof.  Only corps which
have not modified their forage rolls with unused movement points may
participate in the seige, and so if there is to be any siege at all that
turn, none of the attacking corps could have modified their forage rolls.

I assumed that Joel's intention was to lay siege to Cairo, which he could
not have done according to his orders with modified forage rolls.  So again,
if Turkey's intention was indeed to begin a siege, it's OK with me if he
wishes to redo his forage rolls to make that possible.

Otherwise, we have to figure out the nebulous situation of a corps which is
in a city, surrounded by enemy forces, but is not under siege : /     .


----- Original Message -----
From: "Michael Gorman" <mpgorman@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
To: <eia@xxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Wednesday, July 24, 2002 3:02 AM
Subject: Re: [eia] Turkish land phase, 1805

> > says that the declaration of attack happens as soon as a corp
> >moves into an area containing an enemy corp.
> >
> >and
> >
> > says that the loss of extra movement for foraging does occur
> >even if it is the first turn of the siege.
> >
> >-Everett
>          Interesting. agrees with 7.5.1 that attacks are not
> declared until after all movement is complete, but these seem to
> the two rules Everett points out.
>          This seems to come back to the nebulous state of being in or out
> of a city.  It looks like it's easy for city garrisons, they have to be in
> the city, but while the rules seem to expect that we know if a corps is in
> or out of a city, there doesn't seem to be anything that defines that
> they get attacked, but by then we're already supposed to know if they are
> in or out of the city.
>          I pretty much don't get what this part of the rules says.  From
> what I can see, if a corps is in a city, you can go by without stopping or
> declaring an attack.  But the corps has the right to move into the city as
> soon as you declare an attack and its location seems undefined until you
> declare an attack.  But the rules seem to assume that you know where the
> corps is in order to know if you have to declare an attack.
>          There are rules for moving out of a city for a corps, but the
> rules for moving into a city outside of combat are just for establishing
> city garrisons, 7.3.3.
> Hopefully someone can dig up the magic rules clause that defines when a
> corps is in a city when there are no enemy corps in the same area.
> Mike
> _______________________________________________
> eia mailing list
> eia@xxxxxxxxx
> http://lists.ellipsis.cx/mailman/listinfo/eia

eia mailing list