|Michael Gorman on 24 Jul 2002 07:03:02 -0000|
[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]
|Re: [eia] Turkish land phase, 1805|
Interesting. 184.108.40.206 agrees with 7.5.1 that attacks are not declared until after all movement is complete, but these seem to contradict the two rules Everett points out.220.127.116.11 says that the declaration of attack happens as soon as a corp moves into an area containing an enemy corp. and 18.104.22.168 says that the loss of extra movement for foraging does occur even if it is the first turn of the siege. -Everett
This seems to come back to the nebulous state of being in or out of a city. It looks like it's easy for city garrisons, they have to be in the city, but while the rules seem to expect that we know if a corps is in or out of a city, there doesn't seem to be anything that defines that until they get attacked, but by then we're already supposed to know if they are in or out of the city. I pretty much don't get what this part of the rules says. From what I can see, if a corps is in a city, you can go by without stopping or declaring an attack. But the corps has the right to move into the city as soon as you declare an attack and its location seems undefined until you declare an attack. But the rules seem to assume that you know where the corps is in order to know if you have to declare an attack. There are rules for moving out of a city for a corps, but the only rules for moving into a city outside of combat are just for establishing city garrisons, 7.3.3.
Hopefully someone can dig up the magic rules clause that defines when a corps is in a city when there are no enemy corps in the same area.
Mike _______________________________________________ eia mailing list eia@xxxxxxxxx http://lists.ellipsis.cx/mailman/listinfo/eia