Daniel Lepage on Wed, 22 Dec 2004 21:56:27 -0600 (CST)


[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [s-d] Re: [s-b] Ultima Loophole! (v2.0)


On Dec 22, 2004, at 1.13 PM, Dan Schmidt wrote:

First, declaring something doesn't make it true.
Second, under r11/5 my rule gets put in the ruleset.
Third, if this loophole doesn't work then someone
might figure out how to activate the LOIDAC and we'd
have Infinite Destruction And Chaos.
When a word is defined in the ruleset, that definition overrides any 
standard definition that word might have had (there's game precedent 
for this, roughly three years worth of it). Since the word 'rule' is 
defined in the rules, what one might call a 'rule' in a different game 
isn't a rule as far as B Nomic is concerned. So while your loophole 
society has rules in the standard english sense, it doesn't have 
anything that we of B Nomic would consider rules for the purposes of 
our game.
Our rules exist originally by mutual consent - a bunch of players got 
together and said "we proclaim these rules to be The Rules of B Nomic", 
about three years ago. Since then, our rules have been only those 
documents specifically made into rules by the other rules; your 
loophole game's rules don't count.
Oh, and I don't think there's anything you can do that will cause 
Infinite Destruction, since there's no such thing under the current 
rules. And once upon a time, when there was Destruction, we tried 
having infinite quantities of it, and also undefined and indefinite 
quantities. And then we did the same with scores and all other 
numerical quantities, and even a few rules, just to be safe. If you've 
found a loophole worse than that, I'll be very, very surprised.
--
Wonko

< > ! * ' ' #
^ @ ` $ $ -
! * ' $ , _
% * < > #4
& ) . . /
| { ~ ~  System Halted

_______________________________________________
spoon-discuss mailing list
spoon-discuss@xxxxxxxxx
http://lists.ellipsis.cx/mailman/listinfo/spoon-discuss