Daniel Lepage on Mon, 5 Apr 2004 13:59:38 -0500 (CDT)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [spoon-discuss] Gold Stars v2.0

On Apr 5, 2004, at 1:27 AM, David E. Smith wrote:

I proto-propose:

{{ __Gold Stars v2.0__


At any time, a Player may choose to destroy a Gold Star in eir possession.
The player may (but is not required to) specify ONE of the following
effects to occur at the time the Gold Star is destroyed:

If e doesn't specify an effect, does nothing happen?

* Two extra votes are cast on a proposal that is currently being voted
upon. These votes may be cast for or against any proposal, subject to the
following limitations: (a) These votes may only be cast in situations
where extra votes for Philosophies would be permitted [[ i.e. not on
Unauthored Props, or any other situation where more than one vote per
player would be permitted ]], and (b) These votes do not count as votes
for the purpose of determining whether an Administrative Veto is available [[ i.e. if something could be vetoed, but crosses the admin veto threshold
solely because of Gold Star votes, I can still veto it ]]

Part (a) is unneeded: whether or not extra votes can be cast is determined by the nature of the Poll that is called. To the best of my knowledge, nothing explicitly prohibits philosophy votes from being cast on Unauthored props, etc., except for a blanket statement that says that no extra votes may be cast at all on such props. Part (b) might be worth putting into the ruleset in general: instead of requiring that two-thirds of all votes cast on it be FOR it, require that two-thirds of all players voting on it cast at least one FOR vote.

* The deadline for Garbage Collection for this player is extended by two

I'm not entirely certain what this means... the "deadline" is three nweeks after they're put on Forced Leave, or six nweeks after they put themselves On Leave. If a player uses a Gold Star, it will count as an action, and they will implicitly come Off Leave by doing so, thus changing the 'deadline' anyway. How does this affect the deadline if it changes after the star is used? Also, why would anyone use a star to increase the deadline by two nweeks when they could Lurk to increase the deadline by a year?

* The player may draw one Card from the Deck, regardless of any other
limitations or effects that might prevent the player from drawing a Card

A minor quibble: The first two possible effects read "Two extra votes *are* cast" and "The deadline *is* extended", but this one says "The player *may* draw one Card". Is there a reason why it's phrased that way, as opposed to "The Player draws one Card"?


[[ The wording on some of the above is awfully fuzzy. Suggestions on how
to better get the effect I'm looking for on votes? For that matter, any
other small bennies that might be desirable as a Gold Star effect? ]]

Gaining a point or two of bandwidth would be useful (One Chit being the equivalent of half a prop).


spoon-discuss mailing list