Glotmorf on 13 Aug 2002 19:14:03 -0000

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [spoon-discuss] Re: [Spoon-business] Grid movement

On 8/13/02 at 9:26 AM Wonko wrote:

>Quoth Glotmorf,
>> I leave the Grid.
>> For the legality of my action, I cite the following sentence from Rule
>> "Once a player is on the Grid, e may only leave the Grid [[e.g. change
>> status to "off the Grid"]] or move to other units on the Grid in a manner
>> prescribed by the rules."
>> It is my opinion that this sentence can be interpreted to mean, "Once a
>> is on the Grid, e may only (leave the Grid) or (move to other units on
>> Grid in a manner prescribed by the rules)."  In other words, a given
>> has a choice of either leaving the grid or performing a rule-prescribed
>> on-grid move.
>> Once the new, post-punted location of the football is determined by the
>> Administrator, I enter the grid at that location, join Team Turquoise,
>> catch the ball.
>> Nyah.
>I would interpret it the other way - e may only (leave the Grid or move to
>other units on the Grid) in a manner prescribed by the rules.
>Otherwise, players on the grid are incapable of taking action entirely, as
>the only actions they are permitted to take are (leave the Grid) and (move
>to other units on the Grid in a manner prescribed by the rules). So if your
>interpretation stands, your actions still cannot happen since you cannot
>join Team Turquoise or catch the ball, as you're restricted to movement or
>Well done.

Well, no, fortunately the football rule has chutzpah 3, whereas the grid rule has chutzpah 1, therefore taking football-related actions supersedes the restriction.

Otherwise, yeah, once one enters the grid, one can't take any game action that isn't defined in a rule with a smaller number or higher chutzpah than Rule 301, or defined later on in Rule 301.

Neat.  So do we have a new SOE now, since a bunch of us have been on the grid for at least a couple nweeks?  Or shall we interpret that sentence in rule 301 as being confined to grid-related action?  Who wants to throw out the first CFI of the season?

On the upside, this means none of the stock market nonsense happened, since it doesn't have a higher chutzpah than rule 301...


spoon-discuss mailing list