Gavin Doig on 13 Feb 2002 13:28:22 -0000

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

RE: spoon-discuss: Re: spoon-business: A solution to the Haiku Bonus

> Also, if my attempt did work, The Baron's attempt to take 1000 points from
> me still wouldn't, 'cause my score would be zero (post-win reset). Thus,
> giving -1000 points to me would reduce my score below zero, which is
> illegal.
No, I think it'd still work. I mean, it doesn't, because it's just silly, but if your attempt worked, then there's nothing to stop me from giving you -100000000 points. Your score wouldn't go below 0, that's all. Of course, I couldn't *take* any points from you... and no, this doesn't really make sense, but it doesn't matter, because (at least) rule 150 prevents this from working, as you didn't own negative points.

> (which actually seems to be a bit of a problem... If somebody CFJ'd
> the Baron right now that he had Denied the Undeniable, the Judge would be
> forced to judge FALSE, because it would be illegal to judge true, as that
> would reduce Baron's score to negative). (Actually, that gives me an
> idea...)
No. "Whenever a rule states that a player loses points, the number of points in eir possession shall be lowered accordingly, but it shall never become less than zero.". Which takes precedence, so judging true is fine, it just won't reduce the Baron's score (below 0).


Sign-up for your own FREE Personalized E-mail at

Win a ski trip!