Jamie Dallaire on Thu, 14 Feb 2008 09:58:49 -0700 (MST)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [s-b] [s-d] Logical Hand Grenade: 5 Seconds Later

On Thu, Feb 14, 2008 at 9:10 AM, Mike McGann <mike.mcgann@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> On Wed, Feb 13, 2008 at 1:50 PM, Jamie Dallaire
> <bad.leprechaun@xxxxxxxxx> wrote:
> >  Alas, I attempted to usurp the Ministry of Ministry as a future game action
> >  that is set to happen a few minutes before the end of nday 8.
> >
> >  If it is currently nday 8, then clearly I cannot yet have usurped this
> >  Ministry and stopped the Clock.
> B time is not real time. I don't see how this argument holds. It is
> quite possible to have multiple "3 minutes before the end" of the same
> day in B time. The correct thing, I would think, is that your future
> game action occurred twice.

How exactly would that happen? Here is the way I see it:

"3 minutes before the end of nday 8", I pay for retainer usurp the MoM.
Right after that, I stop the clock.
Therefore, nday 8 ends up not really ending, but rather the nday stays
8 and the ndelay increases.
Which means that, if the end of nday 8 hasn't yet come (it would make
no sense to say that it has come twice), then I have not yet paid
anything for retainer or usurped the MoM.
Which means I never did stop the clock.
Which means it's nday 9.
Which means I've already usurped, and my attempt at stopping the clock
was successful.
Which means it's nday 8.
Endless cycle.

I was going for that sort of go-back-in-time-and-kill-your-grandparent
paradox. Hence the consultation.

I don't see how there can NOT be a paradox here unless 1 of 2
interpretations of the rules is made:

1) it's absolutely impossible to usurp without support, for any
player, therefore I never usurped and I didn't have the authority to
stop the clock.

2) the future game actions provisions does not permit you to make a
game action at a time that is contingent on future events (such as on
an nday actually ending). then again no one has made this
interpretation yet and no one said anything about me throwing the hot
tomato at 0x44 in this manner. i don't know but there might be
something in the temporal prime directive that disallows this way of
doing things (?)...

In either case, it's currently nday 9 and I did pay 50 points before
the end of nday 8 (which happened exactly once) for retainer (unless I
just can't take game actions by saying they'll happen before the end
of something, in which case I get 50 points back).

Just in case someone interprets this whole situation as my usurp
having occurred just before the end of the last rday (and I've never
vacated since then):

I VACATE the Ministry of Ministry.

Codae, you can go ahead and claim that you take it again, just in case
you don't already have it. If you don't already have it, it's still
free ;-)

Silly Pilgrim
spoon-business mailing list