James Helle on Sat, 7 May 2005 16:09:38 -0500 (CDT)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

RE: [eia] ambiguity at Stettin

I don't find anything in the rules to address this scenario specifically,
but my initial opinion is that the British would forage normally if they are
ineligible for invasion supply.  This would seem to cause the Stettin
garrison to forage twice (hence JJ's "double jeopardy" theory), but the
British were not there when the Prussian garrison foraged and therefore
could not accept losses resulting from that roll.  Joel's explanation
regarding time spent at sea goes a long way towards justifying the
independent British forage roll or the food supplies could have been reduced
by the Prussians prior to the British arrival at Stettin.

In short, I think an independent roll by G.B. is the fairest way to resolve
the issue.  Sorry JJ.

-----Original Message-----
From: eia-bounces@xxxxxxxxx [mailto:eia-bounces@xxxxxxxxx]On Behalf Of
Joel Uckelman
Sent: Saturday, May 07, 2005 12:26 PM
To: public list for an Empires in Arms game
Subject: Re: [eia] ambiguity at Stettin

Thus spake "J.J. Young":
> If the Prussian garrison at Stettin survives its forage roll and my =
> British corps lands inside the city, I'm not sure how we handle forage =
> for that corps.
> One the one hand, I could see it argued that by making a second besieged =
> forage check, Stettin's garrison has been put in double jeopardy.  One =
> the other hand, no second check would mean that my corps has completely =
> avoided both supply and forage risk for the turn.  Both these =
> alternatives seem off.
> A third alternative might be to stick with the 1 forage roll made by the =
> Prussian garrison, but if the arrival of the new troops modifies this =
> roll (and it will in this case), then any foraging losses that would =
> have been suffered have to be taken by the new troops.
> Anyway, I'm not trying to get away with anything here, but I just don't =
> know what the proper interpretation is.  What do you guys think ?
> -JJY

The Prussian garrison shouldn't be required to forage outside of its turn.
If the presence of the Prussian does not affect the forage number for the
British (i.e., the British do not have 5x-1 factors, for some x > 0) then
I'd say we don't even need to resolve the issue; the British corps should
just roll for itself as normal. If the British are one factor shy of a
multiple of five, though, I'd go with the harsher forage number, since they
spent part of their turn unsupplied at sea, which I suspect would be worse
than foraging in a besieged city.

eia mailing list

eia mailing list