D Mount on Sat, 3 Jul 2004 14:01:09 -0500 (CDT)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: [eia] obscure rules questions

I agree with Jim on both of these issues.

James Helle <jhelle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> wrote:
1) Yes, I believe that since British corps are considered friendly for this
purpose that a minor country corps could be placed outside its' home nation.
However, it would have to have a supply source located in its' home nation
( and be able to trace supply to its destination using sea
supply, but not invasion supply ( That is, unless someone else
finds a relevant rule that I didn't find that states this cannot be done.

2) No, I do not believe this is legal. The rule refered to by JJ is only
in effect if Naples and Sicily are controlled by two different major powers.
Per 11.7, these are treated as one multi- district minor country. Even if
conquered seperately, I believe they would revert to one minor country as
soon as one major power gains control of both.

----- Original Message -----
From: "J.J. Young" 
Sent: Saturday, July 03, 2004 10:40 AM
Subject: [eia] obscure rules questions

> 1.) Is it possible to place a new free state corps on the map overseas,
with a corps of the major power that controls the free state (the obvious
example would be placing a Swedish corps overseas with a British corps) ?
> I believe so, since rule states, "Purchased empty corps counters
may be placed in an unbesieged home nation city (or minor free state city
for corps of that minor free state) or with any existing, unbesieged
friendly corps." I believe that free state corps and corps of the power
that controls them are considered "friendly" in the technical game sense,
right ?
> If it is possible, how would I be required to place my depots and fleets
to properly set up the supply line neccessary ?
> 2.) If I succeed in conquering the Kingdom of the Two Sicilies, am I
allowed to make either Naples or Sicily a free state, while keeping the
other part conquered ?
> Would it make any difference if I conquered Sicily first, and then Naples
in a different month ? Rule states (among other things) that "It
is possible for one major power to conquer a secondary district (by
controlling its capital) while another major power controls the major
district.... When this happens ... the major district is considered a
separate minor country from the secondary district until the secondary
district satisfies the conditions of neutrality."
> So if I got control of Sicily, then Naples, _must_ I recombine them ? I'm
not yet even sure that that's what I would choose to do, I'm just exploring
my options.
> -JJY
> _______________________________________________
> eia mailing list
> eia@xxxxxxxxx
> http://lists.ellipsis.cx/mailman/listinfo/eia

eia mailing list

Do you Yahoo!?
New and Improved Yahoo! Mail - 100MB free storage!
eia mailing list